Wk 13- Artsist Conversation- Carmina Correa

unnamed
Xylose -Glucose 

Artist: Carmina Correa

Exhibition: C12H22O11

Media: 
sugar, foam, noodles

About the Artist: Carmina is a BFA Sculpting student at CSULB. She is a senior and will be graduating. Yay! She enjoys being out in nature, doing art, and is a video gamer. Carmina is a Type 2 diabetic.

Formal Analysis: Carmina is a Type 2 diabetic. This illness is what inspired her to do her art exhibit. This art gallery shows how an illness can impact ones life. ” Definition of sugar: a food group that a person with Type 2 diabetes has a complicated relationship with.” In her statement posted on the wall she used many computer codes because she spends most of her time either on a computer or in the art room on campus creating art.

Content Analysis: To create her exhibit she use sugar for the majority of her exhibit and some modeling foam.

Synthesis / My Experience: I enjoyed her exhibit a lot because I could relate to it. In 2013 I was diagnosed with cancer. So I had to take chemo and steroids. While on these medications, I developed many side effects. Such as steroid induced diabetes. My sugar levels would be in to 400’s …which is high ( normal sugar is around 120). Carmina shared with me the struggles she faces on a daily basis. She expressed that she sometimes wakes up with her glucose levels already at 300. I can relate to her because this was often the case with me when I was temporarily diabetic. I understand how frustrating it can be and how annoying it is to check your glucose and inject your self with insulin. Overall, I enjoyed her exhibit! I have to say it was the most relatable and meaningful exhibit I have seen all semester. Thank you Carmina!!

unnamed-1unnamed-2

unnamed-3         unnamed-4

Leave a Reply

