WK 12- Art Experience- Ethnography

unnamed-4

 

Spending the night without electricity was interesting. I started this assignment around 8pm (about 30minutes after sunset). When the sun went down I felt pretty lost. I didn’t really know what to do. I decided to spend the night without electricity in the living room. I spent the first hour just laying on the couch with candles lit on the coffee table. After an hour passed my sister decided to join me. I was so happy because I was bored. With my sister there it felt as if time flew by. We spent most of the night talking. We talked about life, our futures, guys, movies, and pretty much everything else you can think of. We did not really know what else to do so we just knocked out. However, prior to sleeping I did enjoy quality time with my sister.

  1. What did you think the experience would be like?

I honestly thought that this would be a pretty easy assignment, but boy was I wrong.

  1. Was it “easy” or “hard”?

I thought this assignment was pretty difficult. If I were by myself I would have just probably slept the night away.

  1. “Frustrating” or “Liberating”?

I though this assignment would be a nice way to relax and disconnect from the world. I soon realized how lonely I felt without technology though. Thankfully, my sister joined me during this project and kept me company.

  1. Did you get better sleep? Are you usually sleep deprived? What would it be like to sleep well every night?

I felt like I slept pretty well. I did not notice a difference.

  1. How is living without electricity more organic or harmonious with nature?

Blocking all electricity did help me hear nature. I heard sounds that I normally do not. For example, I could hear the wind    rattling the trees and dogs barking.

  1. How is living without electricity more limited? Is it boring?

I thought it was boring. Sadly, I realized how much I depend on technology. I felt that living without electricity was limited and frustrating.

  1. How do you think people survived without constant stimulation?

I feel that it takes a well-adapted person to live without electricity. I found it difficult to accomplish simple tasks.

 

Leave a Reply

